Thursday, 5 July 2012

Review: Angel Dust

Author: Sarah Mussi
Edition: Hot Key Books Paperback (ARC)
Release: August 2nd 2012
Series: No (but I'm not 100% certain!)
Pages: 390

Would you move heaven and earth for the one you love? ANGEL DUST is a powerful, gritty and utterly modern tragic love story with a twist. When Serafina, the brightest and most beloved of all God's angels, is sent to collect Marcus Montague - the original badman - and take him to Hell, she finds herself powerfully drawn to him and makes a decision that places her in the middle of a war between Heaven and Hell. Can Serafina fall in love without falling from grace? Can Marcus's soul be saved? And just who is the mysterious and ever-so-helpful stranger Harry?

When I was offered the chance to read and review this book, I jumped straight in. It looked really different from anything else on the YA market and my curiosity won out. And let me tell you, this Romeo and Juliet reenactment (Marcus Montague - get it? :D) definetly left me stunned.

The thing that I was probably most excited about when I received this book was the fact that the narrator was an angel. Usually in angel books, the narrator is the more normal/human character and the love interest is the supernatural being so you could say I was pretty excited about the roles being reversed in this book. And overall it was pretty refreshing that way. Except that I got kind-of confused with the description of places in Heaven...

The only slight criticism that I have on Angel Dust, not including the confusing description of Heaven, was the slow beginning. I didn't really enjoy the first 100 pages or so, but after that, I assure you, you are completely caught up in all the excitement and action! Surprisingly enough, the good side of it all actually cancelled out most of what I didn't enjoy!

The main character, Seraphina was a good enough character to get on with. She was brave and very admirable for what she did for love near the second half of the book. My favourite though, would probably have to be Marcus. And to be honest, I'm not entirely sure why! Since he was described as a 'gangsta' on the back of the book, I really didn't think I would like him but yet again, I surprised myself! Underneath the bad boy image he's built around himself, he has his reasons. Now, I don't want to say too much about him because I want you all to meet him for yourselves but I will say he's definetly not what you'd expect! He's actually a really decent gangsta... if ever there was one ofcourse! ;)

So yeah, overall I pretty much enjoyed this new take on the paranormal genre. Especially since it has the whole forbidden love of Romeo and Juliet going for it too! The characters are likeable and there's a unique narrative that I'm sure readers could admire! It's described as perfect for fans of Malorie Blackman, Lauren Kate and Becca Fitzpatrick so if that's you, I'd recommend you try it out for yourself when it hits shops in August! And even if that doesn't include you but you like the look of it, go get it too!


Thanks so much to Hot Key Books for providing me with a review copy! :)

Happy Reading,
Rachel xoxo

2 comments :

  1. I don't know how I feel about Angel books, but this sounds so great! Apart from the slow beginning, it sounds like an exciting book with new ideas. Thanks for the review, Rachel. (:

    ReplyDelete
  2. @Ria - It is, you should really check this out to see if angels turn out to be your thing! You're most welcome! :D

    ReplyDelete

Hey there! Thank you so much for commenting! I love receiving comments and will always try my best to return the favour back on your own blog (if you have one)! I love meeting new bloggers too, so, if you're new here, don't be scared to introduce yourself!

Thanks again! *hands you cupcake* :D